Athens Driving Prep
How to Apply for Your Georgia Instructional Driver Permit
In Georgia, If you're under the age of 18 and you want to start driving, you must first get an instructional driving permit, referred to as a Class CP Instructional Permit. This is required before you can get your Georgia driver's license, or take drivers ed with a driving school.
This requirement was put in place by Joshua's Law. With your Class CP Instructional Driver Permit you will be able to practice driving legally on the road, but only under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
Now that you know what a Class CP Instructional Driver Permit is you are probably wondering how to go about getting one of your own. Our Athens driving school has broken the process down into 8 steps for you.
Complete These Steps And You'll Have Your Driver's Permit!
Gather The Necessary Documents
The first thing you need to do is make sure that you have all of the required documents together. You'll need to bring them to your appointment. Locate these documents and place them in a folder marked "driver permit documents". You'll need documentation for the following:
Your full name identity
A birth certificate is going to be your best option.
Your date of birth
Again, a birth certificate is going to be your best option.
Your Social Security number
We recommend bringing your social security card, just in case.
Your US citizenship (or proof of legal presence, if not a US citizen)
Your official Georgia residential address
You'll need two documents that show proof of where you live. This could be official mail, report card, etc.
Verify your Secondary School education
Bring a document to show that you are a secondary school student or have graduated. For example, a Certificate of School Enrollment (Form DS-1).
If you have any questions about the above documents, it's best to contact your Local DDS Customer Service Center before heading in to start your permit application.
2. Apply In Person At A Local DDS Customer Service Center
Now that you've got your documents together, you'll need to physically go to your Local DDS Customer Service Center in order to apply. Not all Customer Service Centers provide the same services. So be sure to call ahead of time or check online to confirm that the location you choose offers Class CP Instructional Permit application. A parent, or legal guardian must be present with you.
3. Complete A Class CP Instructional Permit Application
You can get a copy of the application form at the Customer Service Center or fill out an online driver permit application ahead of time. Your parent or legal guardian must sign the application live, in front of the DDS employee.
4. Vision Test
If you wear glasses or contacts. Be sure to have them with you. As you must pass a required vision test. You will be required to have a DS-274 completed by an eye doctor if your visual acuity readings are below 20/60 with or without corrective eyewear.
5. $10 Fee (Due Before Written Test)
Bring $10.00. Paid by either Cash, check, or card. $10.00 covers the cost of taking and grading the Knowledge Exam. If you fail the exam, you'll have to pay $10.00 for each additional attempt. Make sure you study!
6. Pass Road Signs Test And Road Rules General Knowledge Test
Next up is the Road Signs & Road Rules Test. You'll need to take the test at a DDS Customer Service Center. Make sure you arrive with plenty of spare time, as tests are given out on a walk-in, first-come-first-serve basis. Tests must begin at least 30 minutes before closing time.
Be sure to study! The DDS offers a free driving manual and practice test on its website.
7. Smile For Your Driver Permit Photo
Ok, you don't have to smile, but you should! Assuming you followed all the steps properly and passed your test you'll have earned your Class CP Instructional Permit. A DDS employee will take your photo and issue you a temporary permit.
8. Your Permanent Permit Will Arrive By Mail
You'll receive your permanent permit (technically it's valid for 2 years) by mail, typically within 30 days. Contact the DDS if 30 days have passed and you still have not received it.
Be sure to follow the above steps, study, and be prepared with all the necessary documents needed to get your driver's permit. The DMV does not care that you "forgot something".
Driving is a responsibility and you are expected to arrive with the necessary items and knowledge.
Enroll in Driving School
Now that you have a permit. It's time to learn to drive. At Athens Driving Prep we offer professional, private drivers ed for new drivers of all levels. Visit us online to enroll in our Athens, GA Driving School to get one-on-one behind-the-wheel driver training.