Online Driver Ed

Georgia Online Driver Education Course

This is the 30-hour online Georgia Driver Education Course required to get your intermediate license and prepare for your full license. This course meets all Joshua's Law requirements. This course is offered by Safe2Drive an affiliate of Athens Driving Prep. 

Course Highlights
 

  • Approved by the Georgia DDS

  • Meets All Joshua's Law Requirements

  • Mobile and Tablet-Friendly Course - take it with you on the go!

  • Get Your Certificate via Email

What is Joshua's Law?

Joshua's Law is a set of general guidelines that oversee the driving education policies that teenagers need to go through if they want to apply for a Class D driver's license. Figuring out Joshua's Law's history and what this means for driving students is necessary if you want to drive in the state of Georgia.

Driver's Education Requirements - As stated in the DDS Georgia Department of Driver Services 2020 Drivers manual

  • To obtain a Class D license at the age of 16 or 17 you must complete a driver education course approved by DDS. An approved driver education course consists of:

    • either 30 hours of classroom instruction OR completion of an equivalent online virtual course; AND

    • 6 hours of on-the-road experience with a certified instructor OR completion of the DDS approved Parent-Teen Driving Guide;

  • You must also have completed a cumulative total of at least 40 hours of other driving experience, including at least 6 hours at night. An affidavit must be signed certifying that this requirement has been met. 

NOTE

  • If the teen obtains the on-the-road component of driver’s education from a certified instructor, a separate document affirming that this requirement has been met must be completed at the time of the road test. 

  • If you have not completed the driver education requirements, you cannot obtain a Class D license until you reach the age of 18.